What A Remarkable Day In America….One Of Those “I Remember Where I Was” Days!!

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s obviously a remarkable day in America – Osama Bin Laden, it was a 10 year mission to kill him in Pakistan and via special US Forces. I don’t think anybody has ever checked this website out for my opinion on international stories, so I’ll keep my comments brief (Celtics vs. Heat rant to follow soon after) Just in case you’ve been under a rock and only come out for my rants, Osama Bin Laden – the mastermind of 9/11, who killed thousands of innocent American and Canadians, was killed in Pakistan via Special US Forces. 

I guess my only thought today – I woke up and found out at 3am Eastern time while streaming the Jason Smith show on ESPN which I always sleep to every night. We live in a very complex world, where things were much simpler in the 30’s, 40’s, 50’s and 60’s but it’s ironic because I watched the movie W. this weekend, the Oliver Stone movie – Josh Brolin was remarkable in that movie and, you know, wars are fought over Oil and there is wars everywhere, but Americans tend to fight the ones that are restricting Oil and the Middle and Arab Nations. I saw something on television that I don’t ever recall seeing in the US today and its understandable completely because it touches the nerves of so many – especially in Ground Zero in New York, where people lost brothers, sisters, mother, fathers you name it.

But for the first time in my life – you know, I would turn on CNN in the morning or MSNBC or FOX and you would see these countries celebrating the death of somebody and it was never the US or Canada or Australia, you know you always kinda said “It’s one of those crazy countries…the zealots!” and you never really understood it, like your cheering the death of somebody, but I kinda understand it today.

That Americans, not only the citizens but their presidents are acknowledging “yeah, we finally got rid of that guy and it’s a really good thing” So, we live in a very complex world and we are part of it and we are often the target of it (western countries…most the US of course) but for a variety of reasons, so out of just jealousy and some because of political decisions.

So I don’t think many of you check out this site to see me go on and on about this kinda stuff, but that was kinda the thing I took from it, that we’re just one part of the world now and if you feel – ever, that you life is in danger or your freedoms are in jeopardy, the US cheered today as other countries have for years, ridding themselves of a real threat to their country.  You turn on the TV and it was just like “wow, this is one of those days…wow, where you remember kinda where you were”.

Comments
  1. Mike Crack says:

    Yeah, it was an interesting and memorable night. I guess it was more symbolic than anything, as the death of bin Laden doesn’t really reduce the threat of terror. I guess for those who were both personally and directly affected by the terrorist attacks in ’01, it felt like a victory.

Leave a Reply

