Football Right’s and Football Wrong’s!

Posted: October 25, 2011 in NFL

It’s time to play “Andrew was right and Andrew was wrong!”

Andrew was right…special edition!

Listen, Buffalo’s got a nice offense, it’s good not great. But the Bills defense, you can’t just have a good offense with that type of defense. Their ranked 29th in rush defense, they’re 29th in pass defense and if you get them out of couzy Buffalo and that crazy crowd, they’re a good team but not special. By the way, the Bengals and Giants – neither offense is what you would call incredible, they have pretty much moved the ball whenever they’ve had to  and the schedule for the Bills now gets considerably tougher, suddenly Buffalo has lost 2 out of 3 and what a shock, my email’s from Bills fans have all but dried up! It’s a nice story, but it’s an 8-8 team cause that defense is weak.

Where Andrew was wrong…

I live with the Cowboys and I die with the Cowboys, even though I love their offensive line – which is the youngest in the NFL and is getting better by the week. They still had two huge drops by my homeboy Miles Austin and they had a couple of penalties on that offensive line that you can’t have on the road in New England. I don’t know why I like the Dallas Cowboys more today than I did last Friday – there is something about this team and in that division that I really like. But I gotta eat it, I said the Cowboys would win 33-30 against the Patriots and they lost by 4…so, in my face!

Where Andrew was right…

Can we finally acknowledge that Eli Manning is good? I don’t get it!! I don’t get it how people don’t see it in this kid. Listen, he’s got 1 elite wide receiver in Akin Knicks and he’s not top 10 or 12 in the league and after that he’s got most standard parts. He’s had injuries all over the offensive line, he’s in a tough division – but here the Giants are, 4-2 mostly because of Manning who’s had to overcome an offense with a dozen key injuries this year. In his 8th year, he may be having his best season, he was a brilliant 21 for 32 and what people forget is that it’s one of the toughest places in the NFL to throw a football. This guy can play – not saying he’s Aaron Rogers, I’m not saying he’s Tom Brady and he may be at the back end of the Top 10 in this league, but Eli Manning is good and he doesn’t get nearly the credit he deserves

Where Andrew was right…

I said this after Alabama beat Penn State, once they got confident in their quarterback and were more aggressive offensively, this was going to be one of the best college football teams we’d ever see and I think it’s the best college defense that I’ve ever seen. In their last 3 games, they’ve allowed 2 touchdowns and they haven’t surrendered a second half touchdown since September! This is an unbelievable defense. They’ve got A+ talent, A+ game planning and their adjustments at half time are mind blowing…I’ve never seen a college defense as good as Alabama’s this year.

Where Andrew was wrong…

I took Arizona and Kevin Kolb to win the NFC West and I’ve got to tell you – you watch Harbough, you watch what he’s done with Alex Smith, you watch their defensive intensity, you watch their physicality…that team goes into Detroit, they committed what like 10 penalites? And yet they still win over a really nice Lions team. I completely whiffed on this division. I knew Harbough would win but I had no idea that they would be this good this fast. San Francisco, you could make an argument today, has a better stranglehold on their division than anybody else in football. I whiffed – and I’m a Harbough guy, I can’t believe how fast he’s done it!

Where Andrew was right…

Listen, the Eagles were going to eventually start winning some football games. You can’t keep outgaining every opponent and keep losing. They’re going to battle in the NFC East into the final 2 or 3 weeks of this season. “Well their defense is terrible Andrew…” umm, it’s better than New Orleans’s and New England’s statistically. It’s 2011 for crying out loud! outside of the Ravens, who in the world is playing great defense? It’s an offensive league, you can win 10 to 12 games, Saints will, Patriots will with just an amazing offense and real issues offensively. Philadelphia has got too much talent with the rules in 2011 in football not to be a viable team down the stretch, despite a lousy defense.

Comments
  1. Mike Crack says:

    You know I’m coming in here to defend the Bills. Sure, the defense isn’t playing well, but as you mentioned the Eagles D is statistically better than the Pats’, as if our defense. Also, Eli passed on us, but the Giants have passed on a lot of teams and have scored at least 25 points on every team except for the Redskins on opening day. Finally, sure our D didn’t do much against the Giants O, but I feel our offense really let us down on that Sunday. Well, to be specific, Ryan Fitzpatrick. He underthrew an open Stevie Johnson twice. The second INT was on a potentially game clinching drive late in the 4th. We let their O drive down the field, but we blew them up during our goal line stand, and Leodis McKelvin nearly intercepted Manning to keep the game tied. Even after the D held and kept us withing a FG, our offense went 4 and out on their last drive. Finally, our defense is the only D that has held Tom Brady down this season. Sure, we gave up points early, but we picked him four times. Not even the Chargers or Cowboys did that.

    Eli is underrated, I admit. The problem is first impressions last a long time, and people still remember his early few years.

    Yeah Bama is looking nasty. I can’t wait for Nov.5.

    Yeah, Philly is not a team I’d like to face right now. I’m glad the Bills got them earlier (although at the time, I felt the Bills were facing Philly at a bad time)

Leave a Reply

