Why Roger Goodell Is Not Our Enemy, But Our Friend!

Posted: May 10, 2012 in NFL
Tags: , , ,

Let me start off by asking you – and think about how you answer this and what the ramifications are, but would you ever yell at your parents for giving you vitamins? Or if your wife/husband/boyfriend/girlfriend make you a great breakfast, would you scream at them? If you do, that probably seals the relationship for you. Roger Goodell is the commissioner of the NFL; does everybody reading this blog realize he’s doing all of us a favour? He’s trying to save the game! But it’s as if there are a percentage of sports fans that are just meatheads! I’m amazed at how many players can’t understand this.

So this past Sunday, on the San Jose Mercury News – first off, there isn’t going to be any newspapers in the next 5 years, but this is one of the really good ones. Bob Young, from Arizona Central, was writing about an article that appeared in the San Jose Mercury News (http://www.mercurynews.com/49ers/ci_20542616/former-seau-teammate-gary-plummer-he-was-crying?IADID=Search-www.mercurynews.com-www.mercurynews.com) . It had to with former NFL player and friend/teammate of Junior Seau, Gary Plummer. He says that Junior Seau, who committed suicide last week, had experienced around 1500 concussions throughout his playing career. Now, Plummer told Cam Inman of the San Jose Mercury News “In the 1990s, I did a concussion seminar. They said a Grade 3 concussion meant you were knocked out, and a Grade 1 meant you were seeing stars after a hit, which made me burst out in laughter. As a middle linebacker in the NFL, if you don’t have five of these (Grade 1 effects) each game, you were inactive the next game.”

Plummer continues on by saying “Junior played for 20 years. That’s five concussions a game, easily. How many in his career then? That’s over 1,500 concussions. I know that’s startling, but I know it’s true. I had over 1,000 in my 15 years. I felt the effects of it. I felt depression going on throughout my divorce. Junior went through it with his divorce” as I’ve said on my rants and as this article points out, this is why Roger Goodell is dropping the hammer so hard on the Saints for Bountygate. I have been preaching this on my blog for the past 2 years, for 2 years on this blog – outside of Lebron rants, I’m not sure if there is anything I’ve hit harder than supporting Roger Goodell. It’s not because he’s got a contract with various networks such as ESPN, Fox Sports, NBC, CBS and the NFL Network. I’m not defending the NFL; I’m defending the NFL because I love football and Roger Goodell is on our side!!

In fact, I don’t think he’s gone far enough!! The NFL also needs to enforce a minimum padding requirement because lots of receivers in this league right now wear fewer pads to increase speed and maneuverability, he should outlaw that!! As they too will be able to sue the NFL in the future. There was a player for the Baltimore Ravens named Bernard Pollard who said last Friday on a Houston radio station that he doesn’t think we’ll have an NFL in 20 to 30 years! And I am just stunned by how many players and fans can’t get past today! You should see my emails – 90% of people saying “hey, they’re gonna wear a skirt…what? Are you going to let girls play now?” are you the fat guy who smokes? That can’t see past your belly? You do understand that you’ll be driving one of those carts you see in the airport for old people with oxygen canisters. You do get that’s you if your 75 pounds overweight and smoking…that’s you in 20 years! Stop eating like a pig and quit smoking!

Some people just cannot see past today – like obese people, it’s just mind numbing to me. You are basically going to be crippled in your old age if that’s how you want to eat today. But it’s just incredible – I got an email from somebody saying to me “Andrew, a woman will be able to play in the NFL in 10 years – this is football not ballet. Without big hits, it wouldn’t be the same game! Might as well put those players in those inflatable sumo suits” people, are you kidding me? Darren Woodson was on the Scott Van Pelt Show last week; he played for the Cowboys and won a bunch of rings. He was asked about how, after all these years, does he feels when he wakes up in the mornings. He said “I had 12 surgeries – back, shoulders, and arms…everything! I mean, I have laid on that operating table many times. To answer your question, I struggle…I struggle daily getting up early in the morning”

How can people not see that Roger Goodell is on your side and my side! I honestly don’t think he’s gone far enough. People, do you want to have an NFL in 20 years? He’s trying to increase helmet awareness, pad awareness. But if I were to provide you guys with a phone number to call me and discuss this topic – I’m almost assured that 50%+ of the callers would be “let them kill each other!” you’re going to kill the sport! Do you not see the class action lawsuits, do you not see them lining up? I am absolutely stunned by fans and players, I just don’t get how so many of you can see it as harm what Goodell is doing. I’m not asking you guys to be Steve Jobs and to be visionaries! I’m not asking you to be a political and technological visionary, but try to see beyond yesterday – it’s amazing! Kurt Warner got clobbered last week as he was on various shows all over the U.S. where he basically said that he doesn’t want his kids – he has strongly considered not letting his kids play football. He said “I understand how great the game of football was for me and what it did for my family, but when I’m sitting back and watching my kids play – my boys play right now, they love it, their dream is to play in the NFL, I certainly worry about it”

Folks! He’s got a child with a traumatic brain injury, TBI; he gets the challenges that come with having an injury to the brain. So he basically says, listen my son is a tremendous blessing but I’ve dealt with this personally…and we’re clobbering Kurt Warner for a reasonable opinion??? I was looking up if at any other point in the history of football, if this has ever been this hot of a topic in previous years as it is today. You have to go back to when Teddy Roosevelt was President of the United States, when he threatened the leaders of pro football at the time – where he basically told them that he was going to ban their game because players were dying. Based on the way were headed folks, these guys are 30, 40% bigger than what they ought to be by their genetics because they are pumping themselves up with HGH and if the NFL doesn’t get a hold of it, somebody is going to die on the field, God forbid on a Monday Night Football, where the entire audience is zoomed in on this one game. This would probably then force Congress to step in and they’re going to take it out of the hands of the league. So based on that, the first thing you have to do is get rid of HGH – you know it’s around this league, you have to have unbelievable testing. Players will shrink, violence slows down, and then you have to get equipment, force them to wear pads. Roger Goodell is not our enemy…he’s our friend! It’s just unbelievable that we would criticize Kurt Warner for caring about his sons! What has happened to us…are we nuts??

Comments
  1. Mike Crack says:

    A lot of people are today people. Instant gratification is a big thing for people. And they don’t like to see things changed. But you’re right, the handwriting is on the wall and a big lawsuit against the NFL could happen…In fact, lawsuits are occurring now from people who would have been just as outspoken against the new rules as the current players/public are.

    Also, besides Kurt Warner, Osi Umenyiora also had some interesting comments earlier this week. I think he said something like “I’ll be in a wheelchair by the time I’m 45…and I don’t know if I’ll be able to play with my son.” So it’s not just Warner who is worried.

    Anyway, I do agree that they have to make the game safer. I disagree with some of the bad unnecessary roughness calls where the official throws a flag on a hit that doesn’t warrant a penalty. Unfortunately, the game is so fast that you can’t blame the officials for making the wrong call. Especially because there’s been a mandate to ‘err on the side of caution.’ I think what should be done is the review of those kinds of penalties. It would curb some of the backlash against the rules, yet also still discourage players from making those kinds of hits.

    Finally, I dislike the tremendous amount of protection for quarterbacks, and the lack of protective measures for defensive players. Cut blocking at the line of scrimmage is allowed, yet a defender can’t got at a QB low? I disagree with that.

Leave a Reply

